One year!

So here we are! Today is my first blogoversary! And I have to say this has been an interesting year. A year ago when I started this blog I was also embarking on the tenure review process, and wanted to write about these experiences as well as to have a place to write about all things sciency and non-sciency. I wrote about my experiences in academia, about living with Tourette’s, about my family, about being a minority, about pencils, about James Brown and about my experiences as a Zombie. Also, how to make carnitasOne of my posts was even selected for the best of science blogging book thingy. Unfortuately I also got very sick this year and this put a bit of a damper of things, to put it mildly. OK, it was hellish. Now that the year is ending things are looking much brighter. Healthwise I’m feeling much better, certainly better than in a very long time. I got tenure! We had some fairly high profile publications come out of my lab. I got to know better a wonderful community of science bloggers and commenters, all of whom have been very supportive during this process. And things are certainly feeling a lot more settled.

As folks often do in their blogoversaries, I have a few questions for my small number of readers. Tell me a bit about yourselves, why do you read my blog? Do you have a blog? I look forward to writing more and exciting posts and hopefully continue to be entertaining (and keep you from your work).

For now, gimme some POPCORN (huah!):

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to One year!

  1. gerty-z says:

    happy blogiversary! I’m glad that things are going well for you. My goal is to make your carnitas this summer. And the publications and tenure thing, too. I read your blog because you are awesome 🙂

  2. GMP says:

    Congrats on the bloggy anniversary!
    I hope your next year is less eventful — just a good old post-tenure, everyone-in-good-health, business-as-usual year.

  3. proflikesubstance says:

    Congrats, dude.

    I’m here for the food.

  4. a.w.e. says:

    Congrats! I have really enjoyed reading about your experiences and I enjoy your perspective on things. Here’s to many more blogoversaries!

  5. Zen Faulkes says:

    “Tell me a bit about yourselves.”

    I need a haircut.

    “Why do you read my blog?”

    Sure beats working.

    “Do you have a blog?”

    *A* blog? Only WIMPS have just a single blog.

    http://neurodojo.blogspot.com/
    http://betterposters.blogspot.com/
    http://craywatch.blogspot.com/
    http://marmorkrebs.blogspot.com/
    http://doctorzen.tumblr.com/

  6. Tideliar says:

    Happy Blogthday 😀

Leave a Reply

