Lions and Babies

I’m sure you’ve seen this posted all over the internet, but I couldn’t stop watching this video of a lion unsuccessfully trying to apparently eat a baby at the zoo. What is the lion doing? Is she trying to eat the baby? Play with it, kind of what cats do to mice? Is the lion attracted to the contrasty pattern in the baby’s sweatshirt? I’d be happy to hear from some animal behaviorists out there.

My first reaction to this video was “Cool!”, but my Supercoolwife was horrified. How about you, if this were your baby would you let this go on or pick him up immediately?

[youtube:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6fbahS7VSFs&feature=player_embedded%5D
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lions and Babies

  1. Dr24Hours says:

    Is it wrong to root for the lion?

  2. gerty-z says:

    I watched this several times because it is hilarious. I showed it to the wife and Mini-G, and we all giggled uncontrollably. I especially like the grown-up in the background’s commentary 🙂

  3. anon says:

    I read a comment somewhere that the baby’s sweatshirt pattern resembles a zebra. zebra = food for the kitty.

  4. Shlogbaum says:

    Based on this video:

    I’d guess they are just bored to death, and want to play with something. Well, probably it would not end well for the “mouse”, but definitely it’s not because they are hungry or angry.

  5. becca says:

    That baby looks… delicious.

  6. Genomic Repairman says:

    Its funny, I’d leave the kid there. I watched the parents get interviewed on The Today Show, they didn’t seem like fast learners if you get my drift.

  7. kevin. says:

    I loved the YouTube comment:

    “What the fuck? Quit torturing that lion & feed him/her that baby.”

Leave a Reply

